Cheat Engine: Changing Addresses Per Game Run

get your superiourity here ! be an offline or online GOD of the game. infinite ammo, unlimited nitro, turbo boost, god mode, you name it !
Post Reply
tableg
Newbie..
Newbie..
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:08 am

Cheat Engine: Changing Addresses Per Game Run

Post by tableg »

Looking for a little insight here. Often I'm able to successfully hack the memory of a game through cheat engine. For example in Kingdoms of Amalur I can find the byte holding my hp value, number of available skill points, etc. However, the address seems to change every time I run the game, so turning it into a script is pointless.

Does anyone have any insight on how to handle this scenario? I'm considering using these same methods for Warhammer Vermintide if i can find a more definitive way to lock down the related memory. Maybe I need to use pointers or Code Finder?
User avatar
XaneXXXX
Special
Special
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 11:19 pm
Custom: My Trainers: https://sethioz.com/market/index.php?ro ... eller_id=4
Location: Dark Zone

Re: Cheat Engine: Changing Addresses Per Game Run

Post by XaneXXXX »

Can you explain some more? Why is scripting pointless just because the address get changed? If you debug it and finds the opcode and write the script from the base address it should work fine.
tableg
Newbie..
Newbie..
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:08 am

Re: Cheat Engine: Changing Addresses Per Game Run

Post by tableg »

Sure, so right now I'm just trying to modify the ammo amount in Warhammer Vermintide. I can find the address holding the double-value in memory for my character. However, this value obviously changes every time you restart the game.

I'm not sure what you mean by base address, but I've attempted to use pointer scanner to find the right values to affect, but haven't had much luck so far. I find about 250 pointer paths and none of them seem to correspond with the ammo value.

When you say debug, do you mean following the code that read/writes to the memory address? That seems to always crash my game as soon as the debugger attaches.
tableg
Newbie..
Newbie..
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:08 am

Re: Cheat Engine: Changing Addresses Per Game Run

Post by tableg »

i realized I needed to be looking at the double value in the pointer scan, not the 4byte value :\

It seems to work fairly well now.. It got a little funky once my friend joined, but I may just be looking at the wrong pointer. There are still 250 of them to choose from and I just picked a random one and it altered my ammo accordingly.
User avatar
XaneXXXX
Special
Special
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 11:19 pm
Custom: My Trainers: https://sethioz.com/market/index.php?ro ... eller_id=4
Location: Dark Zone

Re: Cheat Engine: Changing Addresses Per Game Run

Post by XaneXXXX »

I recommend that you do not use pointers unless you have to, Debug the address (find out what writes to this address), then find out if more accesses that opcode etc, If you don't understand what I'm talking about i reccomend that you go back to the basics, Check sethioz wiki, he has some really good tutorials there!
User avatar
Sethioz
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 5:11 pm
Custom: Gaming YT > https://youtube.com/SethiozEntertainment
Game Hacking YT > https://youtube.com/sethioz
Game Hacks Store > https://sethioz.com/shopz
Location: unknown
Contact:

Re: Cheat Engine: Changing Addresses Per Game Run

Post by Sethioz »

pointer scans are fine, but what you need to realize .. is that type of value has nothing to do with pointer itself.
re-scan by using the address, just quit game, reboot pc and then find the address again, open your pointer scan results and re-scan for the address.
then add to cheat list > change the value type > change value
Post Reply